I Should Be Doing Something Else


I’m hoping as time goes on that I will be able to find some sort of direction for this blog. In the meantime, I shall pester you with my random thoughts on every single thing I can think of. THIS WILL BE FUN, I PROMISE. Okay, I can’t promise that because obviously I do not know what you think is fun. I’ll just assume that since you’re here reading this, you are so bored that it won’t really matter what I include. Are you still reading this? Great! I’m on a roll.

I have decided that procrastination is a disease. I caught it when I was young -much too young- and it has hindered me for the last twenty or so years. Why do now what you can put off until later, right? Wrong. Procrastination is a serious epidemic folks, and it must be stopped. My suggestions include but are not limited to: celebrity telethons (Zooey Deschanel and James Franco sound fantastic to me), fear-inducing threats ( NO COFFEE UNTIL YOU COMPLETE THIS TASK! That would scare the crap out of me for sure!), or perhaps incentives such as free food or gifts (Zooey or James could stop by and give me some pie, that would be acceptable to me). My ideas may seem far-fetched to you, in which case you may want to back away slowly from this blog because I enjoy both being fetching and being fetching from afar. Go ahead, analyze that sentence. I’ll wait.

….

Don’t get it yet? That’s okay, I’m not positive that I understand either. Let’s be daft together.

In all seriousness, procrastination has become my most bitter enemy. The fact that I’m sitting here completing an entry in one sitting is almost unthinkable. I have unfinished crafts (though that is mostly because I didn’t take the time to learn how to do them properly), incomplete poetry, stories, school work, even relationships. All because I put off dealing with things. That is the core of it all. I think the key could be having a support system. Maybe I need a support group of other like-minded individuals who cannot finish things. But would we ever meet? Would we be able to settle for a date and time and then commit to keeping that appointment? Not likely. The thought of even planning something and then following through does not sound like a feasible task.

Oy. This disease is tough. I should finish up here and get back to some homework. Or watch some Doctor Who. The homework isn’t due for a few weeks…

Crap.

If you or someone you know is suffering from this disease please remember that they’ve tried to overcome it many times and they cannot do it alone. With your powers combined…you could probably waste even more time! Good luck, we’re all counting on you.

Say what you mean to say...

