Daydreamer


Leaden fingertips press pause
And I close these tired eyes
Reality creeps its way in
With your name upon my lips

In the midst of a hectic day
This mind caresses the thought of you
Dry mouth, shallow breath accompany
Oh, but you’re only a daydream

Even if these days were only spent
Speaking of alternate realities and fantasies
I’ll grasp every word you utter
With a certainty of never letting go

Even if I remain on your sidelines
Waiting my turn to play a part
As you pour a tall glass of stories
I’ll sip my way into oblivion.

-This daydream is too real.-

Say what you mean to say...

