Reckless Abandon


 

Image

If I could explain the ways I’ve touched you 

Every vivid dream feels like a recollection 

If you could hear my call and hold it dear 

I’d make every second you’d allow me count 

Count the seconds, the minutes, the hours on end… 

I could spend these taking in every piece of you 

Are you still there?

Do you feel these words?

I cannot help but tell you,

But to let these thoughts spill over a dam,

One I had thought to be in perfect construction.

You are so much more than a passing glance

You are so much more than a moment

My heart and soul feel you, reach for you

Like an old friend that I lost along the way.

I could fall down reaching for you

Maybe I’ll reach out too far

But if you were to meet my outstretched arms

Touch your fingertips to mine

Wrap your arms around me

And tangle yourself in my life

Complicate every facet of my being

Challenge all that I know

And I would do the same for you.

I would flip this world I know upside down

For the adventure that is you.

~~~ 

Poetry is odd.  It doesn’t even have to be some great work to evoke thoughts and emotions.  You really just need a few good lines to stand out; something to make you remember or connect with it.  It doesn’t even have to be about one thing in particular.  This is usually the case for me.  It always starts about one thing and flows into being about something entirely different.  I love that about poetry.  The journey it can take you on.  It’s a catharsis I’ve relied upon for most of my life.

Write for yourself first.  Sometimes it’s about examining your thoughts.  Sometimes it’s just about getting them out of your head and not having to examine them.

3 Responses to “Reckless Abandon”

  1. I really like this, and yes, you’re right, write for yourself first.
    Take care.

  2. Thank you for sharing!

Say what you mean to say...

