Write Now


For a few months now it has been my goal to write every day.  It hasn’t been easy and there were days that it just did not happen.  I’ve typed and typed (and typed some more) with fervor, most of the time ending with a product I wouldn’t show a single person.  That isn’t the point though, is it?  I have long been someone who only writes when emotional.  In fact, I generally write when I’m sad or defeated.  This stems from writing as a child whenever I needed an escape, so it’s not hard to connect the dots.  Once something becomes habitual it can be difficult to change.  So in this goal of writing every day, I’m trying to break down that which holds me back.  I’ve found some websites and blogs related to writing that have inspired, taught, and challenged me.  (I will link a few of these at the end if you’re interested.) 

A recurring piece of advice I’ve seen floating around is to write every day.  Somewhere I read that you shouldn’t wait until you’re inspired to write.  Once upon a time I would have scoffed at that.  Why write if you’re not inspired?  When I started writing it was the inspiration that solely drove me.  That idea has held me back quite a bit and until recently I didn’t even see it.  I’m now beginning to understand that while inspiration is definitely a key player in creative writing, it isn’t the whole picture.  The inspiration pushes the initial idea to the forefront.  It enables you to create an idea and a framework.  What happens when it fizzles out though?  In my case, it means a whole lot of unfinished business; entire notebooks of ideas that never came to fruition. 

I’ve come to realize that these projects are not going to get anywhere past the first stage unless I learn to put the work into them.  No story is going to flow out of me from beginning to end in one sitting.  Writing is not a quick process.  I have always taken it for granted because writing has never been a challenge for me.  That is yet another thing that has held me back immensely.  If you think something is easy, then you cease to challenge yourself.  You get comfortable in the boundaries that you’ve created.  Writing every day has begun a shift in my paradigm.  Slowly, I am learning to see the how and what from a new perspective.  I’m not saying it isn’t challenging.  It’s hell at times.  The potential outcomes and personal growth in something that I love are worth it though. 

I feel this shift will help guide me to a place where I am able to produce pieces that I can take pride in.  Maybe I’ll even share some of these things with you.  I guess you’ll have to wait and see!

Here are some writing links I have found helpful:

LitReactor: http://litreactor.com/  What a great site this is!  I cannot begin to tell you how this page has helped me.  Just go there, go there now.

Chuck Palahniuk’s Facebook  page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/chuckpalahniuk?fref=ts I know, I know, a Facebook page as a resource…get over it.  Many of the writing resources I’ve discovered have been through his page.  He posts a lot of great things!

And Today’s Author, my most recent discovery: https://wordpress.com/#!/read/blog/id/43593288/ This is a great community on WordPress.  They offer writing prompts and advice, among other things.

Remember:

Twenty years from now you’ll be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than the things you did do.  So throw off the bowlines.  Sail from the safe harbor.  Catch the trade winds in your sails.  Explore.  Dream.  Discover.  –H. Jackson Brown Jr.

8 Responses to “Write Now”

  1. It doesn’t get easier I think. It just gets more ‘planned.’ It is good though to have these moments of self reflection, they help us to press forward. I personally don’t think you need to write “everyday” but it is always good to keep the juices flowing, so to speak.

    • I don’t think it will get easier…but the writing every day has become very helpful to me. Most of the time it’s small, journal type things that aren’t producing anything farthet than getting a thought out of my head. Sometimes it’s a couple sentences other times pages. I think my bigger goal is to help myself get back into the flow of things. I agree, self reflection is important. At times I’m certain I do it too much, haha.

  2. I’m a writer, too. Been working on a novel for three years now. Yeah, it’s hard. I like what you’re saying. For the longest time my story was at a standstill becasue I lost my driving desire to just write it, you know? So I sat down and looked at story development and new ways to do an outline (I’ve found outlining to the tune of the hero’s journey works for me) and for the past few weeks I’ve gotten something down every day. It’s mostly editing, but something is something.

  3. Very True Ashley……you need to write every day — just something; that is what you build on. 🙂

Say what you mean to say...

