Inertia


“It is not inertia alone that is responsible for human relationships repeating themselves from case to case, indescribably monotonous and unrenewed: it is shyness before any sort of new, unforeseeable experience with which one does not think oneself able to cope. But only someone who is ready for everything, who excludes nothing, not even the most enigmatical will live the relation to another as something alive.” – Rainier Marie Rilke

I cannot get this quote out of my head.  I’ve heard it more times than I can count but today when I heard it (in a movie of all places) it really hit me in the gut.  Do you think it’s a valid point?  I feel that it sums up a lot of hang ups we have about things in our lives.  Not just in romantic relationships, which is where I go first when I read it, but in every aspect of life.  Summarily, if you aren’t willing to take a chance then you’ll never understand.  You will never be able to comprehend things on a different level.  You will always be lacking if you knowingly stick to the same thing. 

This really struck me today because I am currently on a path of self discovery (as cliché as that might sound) and the unknown is something I am striving to sink myself within. I romanticize everything in life.  This might seem to be a fault at times but it actually allows me to cope most of the time.  Some tend to think the term ‘romantic’ is relative solely in terms of personal relationships but that is not the way I mean it at all.  Everything is romantic to me; from the wind blowing the leaves on a tree to the little girl holding her father’s hand.  Maybe it’s just a way of thinking.  Maybe it’s that I like to think of the positives in everything because I truly cannot bear all of the negatives in life.  I’m overly empathetic and romantic.  These are dangerous qualities and surely directly relate to the fact that I daydream often.  Sometimes the real world just overwhelms me with its bluntness and irony. 

I’m babbling and fully aware.  I have a lot on my mind and while I want to share it all with you I fear that it won’t make a whole lot of sense.  I know I’m being cryptic but I’m going through a lot of personal things as of late.  I hope to enlighten you as time goes on but in the meantime I hope you’ll stick around for my special brand of weird.

One Response to “Inertia”

  1. This is my 20th post by the way, yay! This is offically my longest commitment to any sort of writing outlet, woo.

    xo

Say what you mean to say...

